2020 Student Awards and Recognition

In partnership with many committees and organizations across campus, the Scholarship Office is proud to recognize some of OSU’s most distinguished and accomplished students for the 2019-2020 academic year. These students have been awarded prestigious national, local, and institutional honors. Although we could not hold our annual Student Awards and Recognition Dinner on campus this year, please join us in congratulating these students virtually on their achievements, hard work, and dedication to their studies!

In honor of Dr. Clara L. Simerville, a Professor Emeritus of International Education, a Foreign Student Counselor, and founder of the OSU English Language Institute. Congratulations to the 2019- 2020 recipient, Angel Hammon.

The Fulbright Program offers fellowships for U.S. graduating college seniors, graduate students, early career professionals, and artists to study, conduct research, or teach English abroad. OSU had three finalists, two semifinalists, and one alternate in 2019- 2020.

The Fulbright-MITACS Globalink is awarded to US Students interested in going to Canada to undertake advanced research projects in their area of interest. Emi Ampo is a recipient for 2019- 2020.

Sponsored by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U.S. Department of State, the Gilman Scholarship Program provides students the opportunity to participate in study abroad programs worldwide. OSU is proud to have a total of 14 Gilman recipients for the 2019- 2020 year.


The Goldwater Scholarship encourages outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. Two OSU students were selected as Goldwater Scholars in 2019- 2020 and three additional students were nominated.

Recipients of this award have made outstanding contributions to the campus and community while showing unbiased leadership, traits exemplified by the late Grace Wu. Congratulations to the 2019- 2020 recipient, Quentin Comus.

Truman Scholars receive up to $30,000 for graduate or professional school, participate in leadership development activities, and have special opportunities for internships and employment with the federal government. Two OSU students were nominated in 2019-2020.

This scholarship honors Morris K. Udall, whose love for the environment and passion for the rights of Native Americans resulted in numerous pieces of critical legislation. OSU is proud to recognize four nominees for 2019-2020.

The Provost's Literary Prize is presented to undergraduate students for their literary work in fiction, poetry, or creative non-fiction. Recipients' work is published for campus distribution. The 2019-2020 recipients are Tia Lattanzio and Erin Dose.

As a Knight-Hennessy Scholar, students receive funding to pursue an education in any of Stanford's graduate programs. Jordan Conger is OSU’s first recipient of this prestigious award.

This award honors undergraduate students who have earned a 4.0 grade point average while attending OSU. The class of 2020 includes 26 students who achieved this distinguished honor.

National Merit Finalist are selected as high school seniors and carry that distinction throughout their undergraduate career. OSU is proud to recognize our 2020 graduating National Merit Scholars.

The Presidential Scholarship is OSU’s most distinguished scholarship awarded to incoming freshman and is renewable for up to four years of support. Congratulations to the 2020 graduating Presidential Scholars.